How do you make character?

baygol

How do you make character?

Post by baygol » Sun Nov 03, 2013 12:58 pm

Help i got blender so i could make a character but im not very good at modding so can someone make a video or say some instructions . thank you :D

Korban3

Re: How do you make character?

Post by Korban3 » Sun Nov 03, 2013 1:04 pm

Well, there's not much for a tutorial right now. I started one a while back, but it isn't done nor does it do the process justice, but you're free to reference it if you'd like.
http://wiki.wolfire.com/index.php/How_t ... Overgrowth

I really should rewrite that thing.
Other than that, you'll mostly have to reverse engineer the existing characters.

Endoperez

Post by Endoperez » Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:06 pm

Model a character. You need to know modeling, UV unwrapping, texturing and normalmap baking.

Then you need to attach the model to the skeleton. The skeleton is under Overgrowth/Data/Blendfiles, so you only have to do the weight painting, but this only works if your character has 2 arms, 2 legs and a head, like the rabbit. The hands can be shaped differently (e.g. wings), but you can't have arms AND wings, and have them all move. Tail can be done, but won't move much if at all.

Once you've done both, you can export your character using the Overgrowth exporter. It only works on specific Blender version (2.55 or something like that), which is NOT the newest one. Before you start, make sure that you can open the .blend files saved in the newest version in the version you have to use.

Characters are quite hard. Try doing something easier first - custom weapons, buildings, building parts... That will most probably take some trial and error as well. Texturing and normal mapping for Overgrowth has some unique problems, you have to put specularity data into a texture's alpha channel and other stuff like that.

Macrauchenia

Post by Macrauchenia » Sun Nov 03, 2013 4:01 pm